Happy Pancake Day

21 February 2012 turned out to be Pancake Day or Shrove Tuesday as the first day of lent is better known.

For me it turned out to be a bit of a special day that started nice and easy but very early by waking up just after 0600 and after a minor attempt to convince Robynne that pancakes should be eaten before dawn I tried to settle down a little while longer and finally at 0700 the day started with a quick shower while Robynne made nice thick pancakes with crispy bacon and maple syrup.

I had mine with a double shoot of Dulsão do Brasil from Nespresso and it was heaven😀

Had I know how the day would go I just might have gone straight back to bed but as it was I got ready for the office, picked up my new crutches and headed out to face the day!
Yes last night I spent a couple of hours at the local A&E and after a handful of x-rays I was diagnosed with some minor ligament damage in my foot and sent home with crutches and a warning about staying of the foot for a couple of weeks.

Moving though Glasgow on crutches in rush hour is not easy and to make matters worse I had to make use of a “bus” and I’m now the owner of crutches and a bus pass, it seems my life have hit a new low point.

Luckily Lady luck was smiling at me when I got to work and found a message from LD Mountain Center informing me I won a complete snowboarding outfit including board and boots, I just hope its still winter when I get it🙂
Oh and that I’m of the crutches as well.

Since I was supposed to rest the foot I never bothered with a lunch break and I worked straight though until 1800 before trying my luck on the busy streets with my new bus pass.
Apart from walking halfway across city before finally finding a bus stop where I could catch a bus heading to my neighbourhood, my home journey was going pretty smooth, not counting the woman kicking me by accident in the crowded bus when we hit one of the larger pot holes.
When reaching my destination I “quickly” stopped at my local Coop to pick up bread, not an easy task getting out change and putting bread away in the bag with both hands full of crutches but I sort of managed, left the shop and this is where it get a bit more interesting and a lot more strange.
While walking home from the shop I meet a young man that started swearing at me for using crutches and when I tried to ignore him and walk around him kept blocking my way before trying to kick me, this made me quite angry and I wacked him over the leg with a crutch and this made him shout a bit louder and try to attack so I poked (even without being friends on FB) him in the gut and gave him a solid push, this luckily persuaded him to get on his merry way and I went home.

Once safely home I dined on a lovely Pastrami sandwich that I got from a friend, Thanks Guney🙂

So all in all my pancake day was full of highs and lows but I’m still smiling.

Did you have pancakes today or was it just another Tuesday for you?

About brixpoul

A Dane on Adventures, All-round lover of the great outdoors, passionate about coffee, travel & photography. Currently on a mission against cancer. Follow me on my blog brixpoul.wordpress.com or twitter.com/brixpoul and please take time to say hi :)
This entry was posted in Days in a life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Pancake Day

  1. Caroline says:

    Wow, sounds like quite a day! Can’t believe some of the idiots on the streets! Good for you sticking up for yourself though.
    I did have pancakes this evening, but they were severely lacking due to the fact that my maple syrup went out of date in 2010… I have come to the conclusion that to solve this problem of out-of-date maple syrup just left in the fridge to rot, I should simply eat more pancakes! Problem solved!

  2. I didnt get to have any bacon with mine!😦
    Looks delicious🙂

Leave a Reply

