Guatemalan Elephant Beans

As some of you might have noticed I’m out of the game just now with a minor injury and after struggling a couple of days with bus and crutches I decided it was better to stay on the sofa for a few days and be lazy with daytime TV and lots of coffee.

The daytime TV lasted just about 2 minutes after staring at Jeremy Kyle, god those people annoy the crap out of me and all of their problems could easily be solved with a quick beating and it’s all lies anyway to suck in the weaker souls may god have mercy on them!

Luckily Robynne was the angel of mercy and brought me a new bag of coffee beans from Whittard, meaning I at least had an interesting new flavour for the day.

First task was to grind the new Guatemalan Elephant Beans and the smell from the outsized beans was heaven.

Guatemalan Elephant Beans, cafetière

Guatemalan Elephant Beans, cafetière

For my first taster I went with the Cafetière which is French for coffee press or coffee pot and I used a medium coarseness for the Cafetière because I like to let it soak in the water for 3-5 minutes as it really brings out the flavour.

It is a really good bean for this type of coffee and it’s easy to bring out the aroma and taste of sweet honey.

I really enjoyed this coffee but as the day wore on I wanted more caffeine and up next was my espresso pot that is sitting almost lonely on a shelve after I got my Nespresso machine last year.

Guatemalan Elephant Beans, Grinding

Guatemalan Elephant Beans, Grinding

For the espresso I wanted a fine grind, as a fine grind allows the most efficient extraction with the hot water being pressed though the beans and not soaking.

Guatemalan Elephant Beans, Espresso

Guatemalan Elephant Beans, Espresso

This was another successful cup of coffee (or two) but with this bean I do prefer the Cafetière to bring out the full scope of aroma’s

How do you take your coffee?

About brixpoul

A Dane on Adventures, All-round lover of the great outdoors, passionate about coffee, travel & photography. Currently on a mission against cancer. Follow me on my blog brixpoul.wordpress.com or twitter.com/brixpoul and please take time to say hi :)
This entry was posted in Coffee and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guatemalan Elephant Beans

  1. Paula says:

    I take mine as instant and with oat milk😀. You must be gutted to hear that, right?

Leave a Reply

