Flying visit

Another weekend arrived and once again I had a full schedule.

This time I’m doing an overnight trip to Denmark and my day started like any other with the alarm going off at 0500 and after a quick shower/shave I was ready for a delicious creamy latte and a toasted bagel for breakfast as I didn’t have high hopes about getting real food during flight.

I picked up my lightweight luggage

Lightweight travelling

Lightweight travelling

and after a short cab ride I arrived at the airport, I went through security smoothly and I was soon seated with another coffee, this time it was Starbucks, and although it was not as good as my home brew, sometimes you have to rough it.😉

I was booked with KLM despite their last epic fail the last time I flew with them and I was happy to see the first flight of the day was on time and during the featureless flight they even served a breakfast sandwich with egg, bacon and cheese, followed by something remotely reminding me of coffee!

We arrived in Schiphol airport ahead of time but I still only had 90min to navigate the huge airport and buy a birthday present for my older brother as that was the main reason for my travel today.🙂

In the “duty-free” shop I almost forgot my mission when I came across this beauty but I was quickly back on track and left for the gate with a nice but overpriced bottle of Glenfiddich.

Espresso flavoured Vodka

Espresso flavoured Vodka

After a short wait at the gate, we quickly boarded the small plane and my hopes about good service was confirmed when the male steward winked at me on boarding but that seems to be the extent of his good service.

I started picking up the Danish voices around me in the plane and started to prepare myself for the tiny culture shock I always get when visiting Denmark.

The flight was again uneventful and the “lunch” consisted of 15g of pretzels, a small cereal bar and an even smaller can of Heineken but luckily the flight was very short and I was soon greeted in Aalborg airport by my sister and brother and soon after we were sat at my parent’s house with lots of coffee and tasty cheese sandwiches🙂

A couple of hours later and after a quick change we were ready for the main event, we arrived at the restaurant and had a great evening with a three course menu, each accompanied with different wines and a good port.

After dinner we had coffee with cognac and I’m sad to say there’s also a smoking ban in Denmark so we could not get a good cigar to go with it and we soon moved to the after party location so the smokers could get their fix without risking the hurricane-like winds outside.

After more drink and banter it’s time to call a taxi when my sister starts to fall asleep and soon the birthday boy and I hit the road and managed a last night cab before lights out at 0500.

Day 2 started at 0900 with a slight hangover but luckily Mum had buckets of coffee and more cheese to serve up.

After a lovely slow morning it was time to call another taxi, this time going to the airport for my third flight in 30 hours and this time there was a slight delay but not a problem as I had plenty of time before the fourth and final flight of the weekend, I spent my time drinking coffee, reading, people watching, drinking coffee and finally a Panini with a bacon n cheese omelette and a pint of Dutch beer in an Irish pub!

Last flight was on time and the most eventful of the weekend as we spotted a faint hint of the aurora borealis above the overcast skies on approach to Glasgow, and not before long I was walking out of the airport and going straight for the taxi ranks. A quick ride later and I was back home again after a 40 hour round trip consisting of four flights and five taxi rides and four hours of sleep.

What was the highlight of your weekend?

About brixpoul

A Dane on Adventures, All-round lover of the great outdoors, passionate about coffee, travel & photography. Currently on a mission against cancer. Follow me on my blog brixpoul.wordpress.com or twitter.com/brixpoul and please take time to say hi :)
This entry was posted in Days in a life, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Flying visit

  1. I feel almost at home😉

  2. bopaula says:

    I wish I could have been there for the cheese omelette🙂. Great blog Poul. Bless your Mum!

  3. brixpoul says:

    lol Well I make my own coffee so no excuses for bad coffee😉

  4. Paula says:

    There IS a posibility to email a follower or anybody else here provided that they included they public email on their gravatar profile🙂 I did and have been corresponding😛

Leave a Reply

