New Boots – part one

With an upcoming hiking and climbing trip to Italy I decided to get new boots as my old trusty boots was starting to fall apart😦

Raichle Yatna Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots

Raichle Yatna Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots

When I brought home my new boots I wanted to throw away my old ones as I try to live by this mantra “new in, old out” but looking at my old boots I realised they were more than boots to me now after serving me since 2003 when a dear friend found them on sale in the BX at K-town army base in southern Germany.

Since those first careful steps in Germany they have carried me across volcanoes, though bog’s and up and down countless hills and mountains in Denmark, Italy, Hawaii, Turkey, Spain, Germany, Ireland, Austria, England and of course Scotland.

So many memories I have of these boots and one will always stand out when I still can see the stains on the once “white” leather from the time my right foot sank knee deep into a bog on Ben Vane😀

Raichle Yatna Gore-Tex® Hiking Boot in a bog

Raichle Yatna Gore-Tex® Hiking Boot in a bog

So those new boots have big “shoes” to fill and I can only hope they are up for the job!

Cheers Raichle Yatna Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots, you served me well, RIP🙂

About brixpoul

A Dane on Adventures, All-round lover of the great outdoors, passionate about coffee, travel & photography. Currently on a mission against cancer. Follow me on my blog brixpoul.wordpress.com or twitter.com/brixpoul and please take time to say hi :)
This entry was posted in Days in a life, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Boots – part one

  1. Paula says:

    Wish you many safe trips in your new pair!!! Buon viaggio!

  2. Andy says:

    Not many mountains or hills come to that in Denmark!! mvh Andy (from Glasgow too).

  3. Maor says:

    Raichle yatna boots

  4. I was smiling when I read this. I had a pair of boots like that, too. Wore them all over the place. I was on safari in Kenya the first time my entire foot sank into the mud. You do get attached to good, trusty boots.🙂

  5. S. Nation says:

    These boots have been used exclusively by the Army’s 10th Special Forces Group in Stuttgart Germany for years. Best boots I have ever used.

Leave a Reply

