Segway Magic

Some time ago I was treated to a business trip to Washington DC and one of the highlights that stand out was the midweek afternoon break from the endless meetings and business dinners followed by overpriced Corona’s, I mean is it just me or is $7.63 not a bit expensive and they are expecting a tip on top of that!
Yes it’s you, Skydome Lounge I’m talking about! Even if the views from the rotating lounge sometimes overlook the Pentagon and have great vista’s over the city.

Anyway the treat I’m thinking about was a guided tour around the capital on Segway’s from City Segway Tours and that is by far the smoothest, fastest way to zip around the city while you take in the sights.

It was surprisingly easy to find my balance on this futuristic mode of transport and after a short introduction we mingled with the busy city traffic but soon we got to the parks and “drove” on the pathways zipping in and out between the pedestrians and bicycles, I say “drove” but to me it felt like I was gliding effortlessly though the city and didn’t even mind the goofy looking helmet.

Segway Newbie

Segway Newbie

The guides were really knowledgeable and added to the super fun experience with in dept knowledge and small anecdotes about the monuments and historic sites.

During our three hour tour we saw (in no particular order) Washington Monument, The Guesthouse, Vietnam Memorial, WWII Memorial, Korean Memorial, Old Executive Office Building, U.S. The National Mall, The Lincoln Memorial,  Pennsylvania Avenue, United States Capitol, National Archives, Smithsonian Castle and The White House.

Our guide made us all feel welcome and safe, can you guess who he is from the photo below?

Captain America

Captain America

Yes our guide is none other than Captain America!

After a great experience like this I felt like walking was so 2010 and I really wanted my very own Segway but imagine my surprise when I did some research back in UK and found out they are illegal on public road!!!

Anyway thank you Captain America and City Segway Tours and Hilton for picking up the tap on this one🙂

Greetings from the White House

Greetings from the White House

About brixpoul

A Dane on Adventures, All-round lover of the great outdoors, passionate about coffee, travel & photography. Currently on a mission against cancer. Follow me on my blog brixpoul.wordpress.com or twitter.com/brixpoul and please take time to say hi :)
This entry was posted in Days in a life, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Segway Magic

  1. Paula says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog again Poul. How are you doing? I haven’t seen you online lately and am wondering if everything is ok. Are you still recovering from jet lag?

  2. manonlesko says:

    I’ve always wanted to ride a segway. Looks so much fun🙂

    • brixpoul says:

      If you get a chance, you should do it, it’s so much fun and much easier than it looks.
      We only had 10-15 minutes training before we raced round in DC trafic😀
      The sightseeing I ever done🙂

Leave a Reply

