A little miracle

It’s been a while since my last blog but I will try to cover that in a later entry and today I will share something that made me smile while I was out exploring my favourite canal in Glasgow this weekend.

It was a nice sunny day and I could easily keep warm in just a T-shirt and my ¾ length pants that I normally save for climbing but since my little accident (another story for later) my only way of staying fit is by walking or cycling and this Sunday I was on my mtb along the canal enjoying the nice weather and getting some fresh air.

I had just passed Speirs Wharf when I saw the ugliest of ducklings sailing by under the watchful eye of a strict mother Swan and since I of course had my trusty little camera with me and all the time in the world I decided to follow them and get some photos.

A lovely flock of ugly ducklings

A lovely flock of ugly ducklings

A lovely flock of ugly ducklings

A lovely flock of ugly ducklings

A lovely flock of ugly ducklings going home

A lovely flock of ugly ducklings going home

After stalking the little critters a short distance they made their way across the canal and there I saw the big nest the proud parents had built and it made me smile while I sat watching them tuck in under the safety of mother Swan.

Home sweet home

Home sweet home

Home sweet home and a good stretch

Home sweet home and a good stretch

And not a mile away on my way home I came across another nest with a peaceful mother Swan sleeping and guarding the young while a proud father Swan was patrolling the waters that was full of trash.

Restful

Restful

On guard

On guard

It’s one of nature’s little miracles that allows these majestic birds to breed in the heart of Glasgow and I’m glad to be sharing these photos with you all🙂

About brixpoul

A Dane on Adventures, All-round lover of the great outdoors, passionate about coffee, travel & photography. Currently on a mission against cancer. Follow me on my blog brixpoul.wordpress.com or twitter.com/brixpoul and please take time to say hi :)
This entry was posted in Days in a life, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A little miracle

  1. I’m delighted your sharing these lovely photos. They’re really beautiful and they certainly put a smile on my face! Your writing style is great too…

    • brixpoul says:

      Thanks Yvonna, It was such a pleasant surprise to see the nests and ducklings thrive in the city🙂

      Also a huge thanks for your comment about my writing, I try but think with much more practice I might be able to improve🙂

      Have a super day😉

  2. Paula says:

    🙂 I love the post!🙂 Nice to see you back Poul!

  3. Paula says:

    Hello Poul, I have noticed that on this twenty one theme that we are both using font keeps changing from the original to “ariel”. Have you noticed it too, or is it just on my computer?

Leave a Reply

