New Boots – Part two

As some of you might remember I got new boots back in March and now that I’ve used them for a few months in different weather and terrain I thought it only right to let you know what I make of them.

The boots I went for was the Tarazed GTX® technical boots by Berghaus and while  it feels pretty heavy in your hands they feel nice and snug once they are firmly on your feet.

So far I have used the boots for urban hiking before tackling bigger days in the hills of Scotland and Alps of South Tirol and even on those first days walking in them I never had any problems with the fitting as they seems perfect straight out of the box and I never have had any blisters.

On my first trip to South Tirol in April I had the chance to test them in blizzard conditions and they kept my feet nice and toasty even after a long day in wet snow and I’m looking forward to winter days where I can test them with a B1 crampon.

My latest trip, again to South Tirol didn’t have much snow and I was slightly concerned that they might be too warm for the summer hiking conditions but again they kept my feet nice and snug on those long warm days.

I even did some easy climbing and a lot of scrambling.

Climbing by photographer Martin Gebhardt

Climbing by photographer Martin Gebhardt

For scrambling and climbing the boots would have benefited from a “climbzone” on the instep at the toe to aid placement on the rock. For general hiking the sole worked great on grass, rock and even on 45 degree slopes while I fought my way though heavy undergrowth, they provided safe grip in wet and dry conditions and always provided lots of support around the ankles.

But overall rating must be 4* out of 5* and I look forward to many more days like this.

Lazy Boots

Lazy Boots

About brixpoul

A Dane on Adventures, All-round lover of the great outdoors, passionate about coffee, travel & photography. Currently on a mission against cancer. Follow me on my blog brixpoul.wordpress.com or twitter.com/brixpoul and please take time to say hi :)
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Boots – Part two

  1. Paula says:

    It’s great to see you in action Poul… Your friend took a great photo! I am anxiously waiting for your photos from South Tyrol and not just boots :p. Btw, can you give me the coordinates of the last pic in the post? FYI, I bought some nice tracking shoes in Austria🙂

    • brixpoul says:

      Thx Paula, now I just need to keep it going🙂
      I don’t have the coordinates as I don’t have a map of the area but the village you see to the left is Sterzing🙂

  2. Paula says:

    Thank you for the “like” Poul😉

  3. Both wonderful photo’s!!

  4. Pingback: Mission Complete | A Dane on Adventures

  5. Pingback: Mission Complete | A Dane on Adventures

Leave a Reply

