Training Mission 2

Mission 2 (and yes I choose to accept it) was night navigation in the hills and again I choose to visit The Whangie as it’s close to home and again it was super windy and raining.

I arrived at the parking lot just after 2000 hours, I quickly changed into boots and waterproof jacket before setting out up the hill.

Dusk

Dusk

For the first hour I refused to bring out my head torch but after wandering of track in the driving rain, I soon realised I need all the help I could get and took a quick stop to rehydrate and find my torch, I hate the feeling of walking in the bubble that the light gives you and your eyes never get a chance to adjust to the darkness!

Darkness

Darkness

For this little outing I had chosen to bring my girlfriend’s camera; a Fuji Finepix XP30 and since it’s waterproof and shockproof it seemed to be just the thing for a wet outing on the slippery tracks and while it feels very robust and solid I did miss a view finder and a self-timer.  Unfortunately the trip was far too dark and short to test the camera properly but I intend to keep use it for the National Three Peaks challenge.

A light in the dark

A light in the dark

Please take a moment to check my fundraising page www.justgiving.com/brixpoul and I would be very happy if you share it with your contacts🙂

About brixpoul

A Dane on Adventures, All-round lover of the great outdoors, passionate about coffee, travel & photography. Currently on a mission against cancer. Follow me on my blog brixpoul.wordpress.com or twitter.com/brixpoul and please take time to say hi :)
This entry was posted in Adventures, National Three Peaks Challenge, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Training Mission 2

  1. Paula says:

    Looks like a suicide mission to me😉 You are intrepid Poul!

Leave a Reply

