Ben Lomond after dark

Mission three was also an after dark affair as I feel the three peaks will involve a lot of hiking in the dark and I want to make sure I’m comfortable and can find my way when the lights go out when halfway up a mountain!

This time I managed to talk Robynne into joining me and I picked her up from work. We set off straight away not long after we munched on homemade pasta salad and we got ready. Yet again it was a windy and rainy evening.

In the beginning, It was easy peasy, and at least there was some shelter from the wind below the tree line. We meet four people coming down and they looked tired and told us that the wind was only going to get worse further up the mountain and they all asked the same questions. Do you know where you are going? Do you have a torch? Do you have warm clothes? And the answer was yes, yes and yes.🙂

Good Evening

Good Evening

I carried the Fuji Finepix again but only got a few snaps as darkness fell pretty quickly and we kept our heads down against the wind and plodded on.  After two hours we climbed onto the main ridge around 2500ft and the wind had really picked up with gusts up to 60 miles an hour and it was getting hard to walk, especially when the wind tried to push your feet where you didn’t want to when taking steps. After ten minutes of battling the wind, we decided to call it a day and headed back down.

By now it was pitch black and we got the head torches out but after only 10 minutes, Robynne’s torch went very weak and she struggled to see where she was going, but luckily for her I always carry spares of anything important and soon after she had freshly charged light to guide her down.

The trip down was uneventful and we chatted away the best we could against the deafening wind; about the subject of whaling, outdoor gear and other issues. Time flew by and we made it back to the car in just under an hour.

It was my Dad’s birthday and I carried a can of his favourite beer, a Danish classic – Carlsberg, and we toasted to him on the shores of Loch Lomond.

Happy Birthday Dad

Happy Birthday Dad

As always I would love to hear from you so feel free to share your thoughts or questions in the comments🙂

Please take a moment to check my fundraising page www.justgiving.com/brixpoul and I would be very happy if you share it with your contacts🙂

About brixpoul

A Dane on Adventures, All-round lover of the great outdoors, passionate about coffee, travel & photography. Currently on a mission against cancer. Follow me on my blog brixpoul.wordpress.com or twitter.com/brixpoul and please take time to say hi :)
This entry was posted in Adventures, National Three Peaks Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ben Lomond after dark

  1. Paula says:

    If I ever visit Danmark, I’ll make sure to order a Carlsberg, and I will remember you and this post.

  2. I recently did an easier trek at dusk and found that quite difficult so I admire your determination to trek in the dark.

Leave a Reply

