Happy Birthday

As some of might have noticed I like coffee, I mean I REALLY REALLY like coffee and I hope you will join me in a loud birthday cheer as the mighty Moka Pot is 80 years old this year.

I own several but my oldest and smallest one is my favourite and it was purchased in Sicily in 1996 for a handful of euros, it has followed me around the globe spreading coffee love at every stop ever since🙂

The Moka Pot was invented by Luigi De Ponti in 1933 while he was working for Alfonso Bialetti from Bialetti Industries and it has been produced without much change ever since and enjoyed by millions every day, in fact these days it’s considered an icon and can be viewed in design museums all over the world.

For a change I didn’t go mad with a camera in some attempt to show of my personal pot, instead I found a few photos from my collection and shared them below.

As ever I would love your comments and questions below.

If you have any photos of your pot in action I would love to see them, you can share them on twitter @brixpoul or send me an email at brixpoul@gmail.com

About brixpoul

A Dane on Adventures, All-round lover of the great outdoors, passionate about coffee, travel & photography. Currently on a mission against cancer. Follow me on my blog brixpoul.wordpress.com or twitter.com/brixpoul and please take time to say hi :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Coffee and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Happy Birthday

  1. Thomas says:

    Although I opted for a modern bean-to-cup machine and am very happy with it, simplicity rules. If you bring your pot on your next visit we can have a little brew-off and I am sure there will be only winners.

    • brixpoul says:

      Hey Dude,
      I didn’t know you were a reader😉
      I am guilty in making other forms of coffee as you know but I always fall back to the Moka Pot as its simple and ideal for travelling.
      I will pack it with my jetboil next month when I come up😉
      Cheers

  2. like any Italian I own several ones, several sizes, both in the London home and in the Croatian home. didn’t know it was 80 years old. Happy birthday caffettiera!!🙂

    • brixpoul says:

      Of course you do😉
      Its such a handy practical tool and only problem I ever had was the rubber seal leaking but I have seen pots without handle after use over open fire🙂

      • well…… I was a Mum’s place in Italy last week, we were chatting away after lunch as I was making coffee. And wait and wait and wait, coffee does not come up… Flash of horror….I forgot to put any water in it!!!!! so basically the rubber seal was completely burnt out of shape. But ANY good Italian home has spare round seals in any sizes for any caffettiera!!! LOL

      • brixpoul says:

        Oh no!
        Luckily you saved the pot and it lived to make coffee another day😉

      • I think those pots are indestructable. You just replace the rubber seal and they last forever….

  3. We still use a twenty-some-year-old Mr. Coffee pot. Not very pretty, but still doing its job. I have such a hard time replacing something that still works well.

    • brixpoul says:

      Thanks Marney,
      I know exactly what you mean but for me it’s more than that, there’s also a lot of memories with the pot or using a pot just like it in so many beautiful places.
      Cheers, Poul

  4. Jessica says:

    Have you ever tried Vietnamese coffee? It’s the BEST!🙂

    • brixpoul says:

      Hi Jessica,
      I haven’t!!!
      Is there any specific brand you can recommend?
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Cheers, Poul

      • Jessica says:

        Mmmm. I haven’t the slightest clue on a brand! I had it at a Vietnamese restaurant in Taiwan, as well as when I visited Vietnam. Essentially it’s a really rich coffee put through a press right there at your table. They tend to use fairly thick cream. It’s really, really good. (Of course you can skip the cream if you like it black.)

        Cheers to coffee!
        Jess

      • brixpoul says:

        Sounds delicious, I drink a number of different coffees depending on mood but mainly black or espresso🙂
        I will ask the all knowing Google about Vietnamese coffee when I get a moment😉
        Cheers, Poul

  5. annesquared says:

    I love love love love coffee! My first cup of “ethnic” coffee was when I was working with refugees from Croatia. I like plain, strong, coffee. But through no common language, the gracious couple communicated that I did not want to drink it without sugar. One cup – addicted. Never did figure out how to make it.

    I have the “secret” to Vietnamese coffee, told to me by several different sources (aka moms who make and serve the coffee, who finally tell their secret for my secret recipe…. And this has been In several different countries. Very strong coffee from the press (the french influence.) The thick white stuff is either sweetened condensed milk or condensed milk. From a can.

    I should have just rolled with it, huh?🙂

    • brixpoul says:

      Hi Anne, Sounds like very nice memories😉
      Do you know what beans is used for this coffee?
      Cheers, Poul

      • annesquared says:

        I have no idea – we had no common language at the time and they had been in a refugee camp for quite a long time – 2 adults, mom pregnant and 4 children under 8. And my son was less than 2.
        For the life of me I don’t remember why the type of beans didn’t come up…😀 😉

      • brixpoul says:

        Sounds like you had a lot of time to discuss coffee beans then ;-p

      • annesquared says:

        Most definitely. The main topic of conversation. What else is there to discuss…😀
        In all fairness, I begged and bargained to arrange an apartment for them, furnished, etc. – given all they had been through over the few years, the long travel, new place – they still extended me the kindness and courtesy of grinding coffee beans, brewing coffee in their custom and serving me in their new home. I was humbled and honored.
        Our metro not small but I run into my “families” still. Their being here has made this city into a new and wonderful place.

      • brixpoul says:

        It sounds like very rewarding work you were doing🙂

Leave a Reply

