Italia Day 1

I was asked about solo travel the other day and that made me think about my last real solo trip I was on, it was supposed to be a Via Ferrata climbing trip to the Brenta Dolomites in Bella Italia and as always I was looking for deals on RyanAir flights (remember those?) and due to price I ended up going in early October and here’s what happened.

Day 1

First of my Italian adventure started very early at 0400 with coffee and leaving for the airport, it was a grim morning with heavy rain across Scotland and I was worried about missing my flight.

When I finally made it to the airport, the check in turned into a minor disaster as I had 5kg overweight and to avoid some nasty fee’s I had to repack but didn’t bring a carryon bag! Luckily I always carry extra plastic bags for any occasion :0)

The time in the air flew by but I managed to catch a wee shut eye and arrived in Brecia Airport without further hassle.

I boarded a shuttle into Brecia for €7.50 and arriving at 1500 I just missed the last bus going to Madonna di Campiglio that was my intended starting point, so the hunt started for a cheap bed for the night and ended up in a small side street 1* hotel for €50.

I checked in and started exploring my room and 3 minutes later I went out to explore Brecia without my heavy pack and spent the rest of the afternoon sipping coffee, pondering life and people watching before I went back to the room and spent the evening watching Italian news, writing my diary and letting people know how I was getting on by sending a few texts.

Time for reflection and espresso

Time for reflection and espresso

I was feeling very tired and a little lonely so it was lights out at 2200.

This was my very first attempt to blog and it was published on the Adventure Travel website. This time I have rewritten the posts from my diary and the first blog.

About brixpoul

A Dane on Adventures, All-round lover of the great outdoors, passionate about coffee, travel & photography. Currently on a mission against cancer. Follow me on my blog brixpoul.wordpress.com or twitter.com/brixpoul and please take time to say hi :)
This entry was posted in Adventures, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Italia Day 1

  1. lexi says:

    RyanAir … that brings back a very similar memory for me. My friend and I were traveling to Europe several years ago and thought we scored the best deal ever … Gatwick to Dublin, Dublin to Rome, and Rome back to Gatwick on RyanAir … I think each leg was about $75.00. We got to Gatwick airport to start our jaunt around Europe and were quickly greeted with a $250.00 over-luggage fee for my 50 lb. suitcase alone. I panicked. We had 3 more legs to go on RA. We got out in Dublin and went right away to a luggage store, bought a carry on, and rolled all of my clothes into tiny cylinders. I stuffed some things in my purse, etc. It definitely taught me to read the fine print and not to fly RA anymore🙂 I also liked that you had to pay extra for the seat belt, seat cushion, etc. Not really but it felt like that. How was the Via Ferrata? I’ve always wanted to do one. Cheers, Lexi

    • brixpoul says:

      Ha ha Yeah that sounds like RA :0)
      But I used to fly RA all the time and as long as you are aware of the rules and travel light and didn’t expect any service you could get great deals and have cheap weekends all over Europe but these days it’s getting very hard to find good deals:-/
      RA used to joke about charging you a £1 to use the toilets in flight but I think it was a joke……
      You will have to keep reading if you want to hear about the Via Ferrata’s:-p
      Cheers, Poul

  2. Paula says:

    It’s nice to see you again Poul🙂

  3. Thanks for stopping by my place. Happy Travels !

Leave a Reply

