Italy Day 4

Day 4

I learned my lesson yesterday and stayed in my sleeping bag until 0800 before venturing outside in the fresh morning air, it looked to be another blue sky day but it was bitterly cold and I ran around the house again to get some warmth in the old bones. I spent the morning packing down my little camp and filled some ice in the camelback and hoping it would melt for the hike down later that day. Once packed and ready I spent a couple of hours bouldering again on some of the boulders around the hut.

At 1230 I felt ready and started slowly making my way down towards Rifugio Casinei and feeling in great adventurous spirits I picked a different route and I was soon lost as it did not match with the cartoon map at all but I arrived at Rifugio Casinei after only 3 hours and by a stroke of luck this was the last weekend before closing up for the winter and they only agreed to let me stay the night if I was happy with cold water and no breakfast but as I was sitting in the setting sun with a cold pint I was quite chuffed with paying €22 for bed and beer :0)

After the sun was gone I moved inside and soon the landlords called it a day and brought out a bottle of wine and we were chatting the night away about life in the mountains and I could not help but feel a little jealous about the simple life they were leading and after a nice evening I headed to bed around 2130 to update my diary and some sleep that was only interrupted when I had to open a window at 0400 due to heat and close it again at 0600 when my breath was turning to ice in the cold morning.

About brixpoul

A Dane on Adventures, All-round lover of the great outdoors, passionate about coffee, travel & photography. Currently on a mission against cancer. Follow me on my blog brixpoul.wordpress.com or twitter.com/brixpoul and please take time to say hi :)
This entry was posted in Adventures, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Italy Day 4

  1. Beautiful pictures!

  2. Paula says:

    Gorgeous all of them … I wish I could have been there🙂

Leave a Reply

