Danish Sand Art

I’m currently road tripping and visiting friends and family in Europe and of course my old camera is with me every step of the way.

I’m still trying to get used to the fact that it’s ok to slow down and smell the roses if I like or stop every time I see a great photo opportunity. But I am getting better at relaxing and slowing my life down.

The other week my travels took me to Denmark where I drove past this Sand Art exhibition Near Blokhus on the Danish West coast and I wandered in to check it out, It turned out it was a couple of months old and as you can tell from the photos, it had been raining a lot those past months but most of it was still pretty intact.

The theme for the Sand Art was Nordic Mythology and being of Nordic descent myself I of course have a soft spot for this🙂

It was an international team of sand artists that was gathered for this event and sadly my notes about the exhibition have gone lost somehow along the road so I cannot tell you much more about it😦

I have included a small gallery below and notice the different colours in the sand as the rain came the light changed quite a lot.

I can’t decide on a favourite as they all have amazing details but I would love to hear your favourites and comments below.

About brixpoul

A Dane on Adventures, All-round lover of the great outdoors, passionate about coffee, travel & photography. Currently on a mission against cancer. Follow me on my blog brixpoul.wordpress.com or twitter.com/brixpoul and please take time to say hi :)
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Danish Sand Art

  1. Jessica says:

    Wow! I like them all. And I’m glad to hear you’re taking some time to stop and smell the roses. We all need more of that in our lives.

  2. Hanna says:

    Glædelig Jul, Poul
    De bedste hilsner,
    Hanna

  3. Jocelyne says:

    This is fantastic art !

  4. Sally says:

    Some of these are both parts disturbing and awesome… so cool to look at, though.

    • brixpoul says:

      Very true but I guess that in the old folk tales you needed something a bit scary but never the less very well made and very awesome and they had been there for about two months when I found them!

Leave a Reply

