The Fyrish Monument

Today I finally managed to take a wee jaunt up to the Fyrish Monument, it seem about time as I’ve been watching the Fyrish every time I drive past on the A9 and I’ve driven past at least twice a day on average! It’s an easy but steep climb up a straightforward woodland path that opens up to great views and with today’s changing weather I was hoping for some dramatic skies to photograph , while the weather didn’t let me down I was unsure how to spin new light on much photographed/painted monuments from 1782 but I will leave it up to you to judge my photos below!

As much as I enjoyed the monument I was quickly drawn to a small pond/bog at the summit by the loud buzzing of wings and I was not disappointed to find a large brown/yellow dragonfly laying eggs in the water 😀

If anyone can identify the dragonfly please let me know and as always I would love to hear any comments and questions from you.

About brixpoul

A Dane on Adventures, All-round lover of the great outdoors, passionate about coffee, travel & photography. Currently on a mission against cancer. Follow me on my blog brixpoul.wordpress.com or twitter.com/brixpoul and please take time to say hi :)
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Fyrish Monument

  1. Hanna says:

    Hej Poul. Godt at høre nyt fra dig!! Billedet af ‘The Dragonfly’ er sart og smukt på samme tid. Helt vilde detaljer. Håber du har det godt, og god weekend til dig 🙂

  2. brixpoul says:

    Det var dejligt at tage sig tid til det🙂

Leave a Reply

