National Three Peaks Challenge

Right where to start? I have decided to tackle my version of the National Three Peaks challenge and try to raise money for Macmillan Cancer Support to honour my Dad who passed away in May 2012.

Dad

Dad

Back in April while I was participating in Ulla Lohmann Expedition Photography workshop in South Tirol I got the terrible news that my Dad was diagnosed with cancer, naturally as I was devastated and worried, I quit the workshop and next morning Basti, Ulla’s husband, drove me to the airport so I could fly to Denmark.

The first prognosis was good and the doctors were positive, that could get rid of the cancer, but at my visit the following month it became clear he was not coping well with the chemotherapy, Friday 18th May we were told he would probably not survive the weekend and the whole family gathered round the bed at the hospital to bid their farewell and my Mum moved into his room.

The weekend passed without much change and during the following week it became clear that while he was very weak, he also had some fight left in him and was not ready to move on just yet.

At the end of the week it became very clear that his greatest wish was to go home and while that seemed to be an impossible task due to the hospital’s “red tape”, eventually in the evening of the 25th during the night, I helped carry a hospital bed into my parent’s living room and finally Saturday afternoon he came home and again the family was gathered for to visit but this time in his own house.

After a long hard night he was in a bad state but peaceful about being home.

Finally Sunday 27th in the afternoon he bid his farewell and passed on, I was glad his pain was over and that the family was there in those last precious moments.

The Chapel

The Chapel

I plan to blog about my preparations and of course the final event.

I have set up a https://www.justgiving.com/Brixpoul and I would appreciate all donations, big and small.

Feel free to share and THANK YOU ALL IN ADVANCE

Poul x

About brixpoul

A Dane on Adventures, Step-dad, photographer, all-round lover of the great outdoors & coffee. Fighting cancer through fundraising adventures.
This entry was posted in Adventures, National Three Peaks Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to National Three Peaks Challenge

  1. Paula says:

    Your Dad was full of life, and I hope he had a happy one.

  2. I’m sorry to hear about your father, I think it is great that you are fundraising in his honour.

  3. lexi says:

    What a sweet story about your father and your family’s obvious love and support for him. I’m sure he was extremely proud of the family he had created and how they were all there for him for the end. It seems to me that he passed away in a very peaceful way.

  4. Pingback: #TrikeCornwall | A Dane on Adventures

Leave a comment